I am a post-doctoral researcher currently working in the SFI IT integration and data analytics project:

IT Integration, Data Analytics and Big Data (subproject WP6) – Offshore Mechatronics (Center of Research-Driven Innovation SFI)

Luis M. Lopez-Ramos (M16) received the B.Sc. degree (with highest honors) in telecommunications engineering, and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in multimedia and communications in 2010, 2012 and 2016, respectively, from King Juan Carlos University (Madrid) and Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain. During the Fall semesters of 2013 and 2014, he was a visiting scholar at the Dept. of Electrical Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Between 2010 and 2016 he carried out research and teaching with the Dept. of Signal Theory and Communications at URJC. During my PhD I carried out research on cognitive radio communications and electric power networks (smart grids). The mathematical tools for this research include convex optimization, stochastic and dynamic programming, and stochastic approximation. In February 2017, he joined the University of Agder as a post-doctoral research fellow.

Dr. Lopez-Ramos’ research currently focuses on inference methods for network topology identification and wireless spectrum cartography.

The courses I am teaching / have taught are:

Optimization IKT438-G (spring/vår 2017)

Advanced Optimization IKT719-G (fall/høst 2017)

Optimization IKT720-G (fall/høst 2018)

My current research as a post-doc focuses on network topology identification and wireless spectrum cartography. Regarding network topology identification, my focus is on the application of sparse regression techniques for the detection of breakpoints (points in time where the topology of a network changes) from time series data. The mathematical tools for this research include convex and non-convex optimization, online learning, and matrix completion.

List of publications



Prof. Baltasar Beferull Lozano

Professor, Director of WISENET Center

Assoc. Prof. Ilya Tiapin

Associate Professor

Prof. Torleiv Maseng

Professor, UiO

Leila Ben Saad


Joshin Krishnan

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Surender Redhu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Mohamed Elnourani

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Henning Idsøe

PhD Research Fellow

Madeleine Rønning

PhD Research Fellow

Ravi Sharan

PhD Research Fellow

Emilio Ruiz

PhD Research Fellow

Jyotirmoy Bhardwaj

PhD Research Fellow

Rohan Money

PhD Research Fellow

Juan Diego Cardenas

PhD Research Fellow

Rahul Jaiswal

PhD Research Fellow

Kevin Roy

PhD Research Fellow

Sarang Kumar

PhD Research Fellow

Jayant Singh

PhD Research Fellow

Nabil Belbachir

Industrial Liason

Øyvind Mydland

Industrial Liaison

Julia Cervera Valles

Higher Executive Officer